Wait when page loaded
Pittsburgh DUI Lawyer

KNOW YOUR RIGHTS

All DUI charges are treated very seriously in Western Pennsylvania, but the range of penalties vary greatly depend on your BAC and whether you have been convicted of a DUI in the past. Even if this is your first DUI, the penalties can be severe.  The punishment for a first DUI can include a large fine (up to $5,000), incarceration, six months of probation, a year license suspension, and drug and alcohol assessment and alcohol safety training.  Even worse, a DUI can have significant adverse impacts on your present and future employment.  Fortunately, many first time DUI charges are eligible for the ARD program and an expungement from your record.  For all these reasons, you should not listen to anyone who says you should just pled guilty to a first DUI without first contacting a Criminal Defense Lawyer.

If you are being charged with your second or more DUI, the penalties will increase dramatically which each additional offense.  Likewise, Pennsylvania uses a tiered system where the penalties increase based on your recorded BAC. Combining these two factors, the maximum penalties for a DUI are as follows:

For your FIRST DUI in ten years, with a BAC between .08 and .0999, your sentence may include 6 months probation, a $300 fine, required attendance of Alcohol Highway Safety School, and a full drug and alcohol assessment by the Court Reporting Network.

For your FIRST DUI in ten years, with a BAC between .10 and .159, your sentence may include 48 hours to 6 months of incarceration, a $500 to $5,000 fine, a suspension of your driver’s license for 12 months, required attendance of Alcohol Highway Safety School, and a full drug and alcohol assessment by the Court Reporting Network.

For your FIRST DUI in ten years with a BAC between .16 and greater, your sentence may include 72 hours to 6 months of incarceration, a $1,000 to $5,000 fine, a suspension of your driver’s license for 12 months, required attendance of Alcohol Highway Safety School, and a full drug and alcohol assessment by the Court Reporting Network.

For your SECOND DUI in ten years, with a BAC between .08 and .0999, your sentence may include 5 days to 6 months of incarceration, a $300 to $2,500 fine, a suspension of your driver’s license for 12 months, installation of an Ignition Interlock System for 12 additional months, required attendance of Alcohol Highway Safety School, and a full drug and alcohol assessment by the Court Reporting Network.

For your SECOND DUI in ten years, with a BAC between .10 and .159, your sentence may include 30 days to 6 months of incarceration, a $750 to $5,000 fine, a suspension of your driver’s license for 12 months, installation of an Ignition Interlock System for 12 additional months, required attendance of Alcohol Highway Safety School, and a full drug and alcohol assessment by the Court Reporting Network.

For your SECOND DUI in ten years, with a BAC between .16 and greater, your sentence may include 90 days to 5 years of incarceration, a $1,500 to $10,000 fine, a suspension of your driver’s license for 18 months, installation of an Ignition Interlock System for 12 additional months, required attendance of Alcohol Highway Safety School, and a full drug and alcohol assessment by the Court Reporting Network.

For your THIRD DUI in ten years, with a BAC between .08 and .0999, your sentence may include 10 days to 2 years of incarceration, a $500 to $5,000 fine, a suspension of your driver’s license for 12 months, installation of an Ignition Interlock System for 12 additional months, required attendance of Alcohol Highway Safety School, and a full drug and alcohol assessment by the Court Reporting Network.

For your THIRD DUI in ten years, with a BAC between .10 and .159, your sentence may include 90 days to 5 years of incarceration, a $1,500 to $10,000 fine, a suspension of your driver’s license for 18 months, installation of an Ignition Interlock System for 12 additional months, required attendance of Alcohol Highway Safety School, and a full drug and alcohol assessment by the Court Reporting Network.

For your THIRD DUI in ten years, with a BAC between .16 and greater, your sentence may include 1 to 5 years of incarceration, a $2,500 to $10,000 fine, a suspension of your driver’s license for 18 months, installation of an Ignition Interlock System for 12 additional months, required attendance of Alcohol Highway Safety School, and a full drug and alcohol assessment by the Court Reporting Network.

For your FOURTH OR GREATER DUI in ten years, with a BAC between .08 and .0999, your sentence may include 10 days to 2 years of incarceration, a $500 to $5,000 fine, a suspension of your driver’s license for 18 months, installation of an Ignition Interlock System for 12 additional months, required attendance of Alcohol Highway Safety School, and a full drug and alcohol assessment by the Court Reporting Network.

For your FOURTH OR GREATER DUI in ten years, with a BAC between .10 and .159, your sentence may include 1 to 5 years of incarceration, a $1,500 to $10,000 fine, a suspension of your driver’s license for 18 months, installation of an Ignition Interlock System for 12 additional months, required attendance of Alcohol Highway Safety School, and a full drug and alcohol assessment by the Court Reporting Network.

For your FOURTH OR GREATER DUI in ten years, with a BAC between .16 and greater, your sentence may include 1 to 5 years of incarceration, a $2,500 to $10,000 fine, a suspension of your driver’s license for 18 months, installation of an Ignition Interlock System for 12 additional months, required attendance of Alcohol Highway Safety School, and a full drug and alcohol assessment by the Court Reporting Network.

With so much at stake, you should contact a knowledgeable Criminal Defense Lawyer who can explain the elements of the offense, possible penalties (including suspension of your driving license), defenses, and expected outcomes. 

Contact Us Today For a Free Consultation!

If you or someone you know being charged with a DUI, call DeLuco Law as soon as possible at 412-444-8771 or  email us to receive a free evaluation of your case.  If you choose to hire DeLuco Law we will work as a team to develop a strategy to achieve the best possible result in your case.