It is a fact that many of us consume alcohol before we reach the legal drinking age and only a fraction are ever charged with an underage offense. However, despite the prevalence of the act (especially for college students), the consequences of being convicted of an underage can be significant. The very first time that you are convicted of an underage, you can be fined up to $500, jailed up to 90 days, or both. In practice, a fine will almost always be imposed while any period of jail time is highly unlikely. However, the one consequence of an underage that is mandatory is the lose of one’s driver’s license and a criminal record. The penalties for second and subsequent underages are even more severe. For a second or greater underage, you may be fined up to $1,000 and will have your license suspended for a year or more.
Before you admit guilt to an underage, please make certain that you fully understand and appreciate the consequences. If you wish to best avoid the above consequences, you should consider hiring an attorney with experience in handling these cases throughout Western Pennsylvania.
DeLuco Law has been very successful in handling underage drinking cases and is frequently able to get these charges dismissed entirely. Contact DeLuco Law and schedule a free consultation with such an attorney today.
POSSESSION OF FALSE IDENTIFICATION CARD
Pittsburgh and Western Pennsylvania is fortunate to have many great universities and college towns. Accordingly, we also have a high number of fake ID cases. While it is common for college students to use fake IDs, there can be serious charges for the possession of a false identification card.
For the first offense, a summary offense, the maximum sentence is 90 days incarceration and a $300.00 fine. However, it is extremely unlikely that anyone would be sentenced to any jail time for an underage violation. What will happen, to anyone convicted of a first offense, is that his or her driver’s license will be suspended for 90 days. A second violation for possessing a fake ID is a misdemeanor of the third degree with a maximum sentence of 1-year incarceration and a $500.00 fine. Again, a sentence of incarceration is unlikely, but a second violation will result in a 1-year suspension of your driving privileges. A third or subsequent offense carries a 2-year suspension. A conviction for the possession of a fake ID may also have lasting impacts on your future as it is categorized as a crimen falsi offense, meaning it involves dishonesty.
Fortunately, while the maximum penalties and license suspension are severe, it is possible to avoid a conviction if you are charged in a fake ID case. There are several methods for avoiding a fake ID conviction including negotiating a favorable resolution, fighting the case at the magistrate, or by participating in a first-time offender program. If your charge is successfully dismissed, an expungement petition can be filed so that all records related to the offense can be destroyed.
If you or someone you know has been charged with an underage offense, including the possession of a fake ID, you should contact DeLuco Law and schedule a free consolation with an attorney who has been very successful in handling these types of cases.